Local Schools



JR Beta Club Induction Held at T.S. Hill Middle School

NOVEMBER 03RD 2017 BY DEE LOFLIN

JR Beta Club Induction Held at T.S. Hill Middle School

Dexter, Missouri - One hundred thirty-two students were inducted into the 2017 Jr. Beta Club during a special ceremony held at 9:00 a.m. on Friday, November 3, 2017 at the T.S. Hill Middle School in Dexter.

Middle school principal, Scott Kruse, welcomed parents and special guests and then asked Tucker Kyle, 8th grade Jr. Beta member to lead everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance. Gerica Harris lead everyone in a beautiful rendition of our National Anthem.

Jr. Beta State Secretary, Abby DeMent, spoke to the audience as well with a an entertaining explanation of what Jr. Beta does in the community and how learned to become a leader through Jr. Beta. Keep an eye on this gal over the next few years. She is going to make an impact on our school and community.

Mr. Kruse introduced Christopher Stone, the school's 2018 Jr. Beta State Presidential Candidate. He will be running for office at the state convention in March at Poplar Bluff.

"In only our 6th year of Jr. Beta at the middle school, it is obvious to our students, teachers, parents, and this community that Beta Club makes a powerful positive impact on our school and student body," state Kruse. "It is exciting to be able to say this positive impact can now continue into the Dexter Senior High School for these students with the implementation of a Sr. Beta Club locally."

"Our Jr. Beta Club has proven to serve a valuable purpose and fill several needs here at Middle School," continued Kruse.

Jr. Beta students work hard throughout the academic year. They sponsor canned food drives, an Old School Chili Supper (slated for November 20th), host a formal Winter Dance for the entire school, and have worked on several service projects in the community providing a Christmas for six area families.

Last year at the state convention in Poplar Bluff students competed against other Missouri Jr. Beta members in categories such as artwork, photography, speech, essay, group talent, poetry, recycled art, quilting, wreaths, banners, web design, handmade jewelry, t-shirt design, living literature, quiz bowl, academics and more.

Thirty-nine students and eleven sponsors traveled to the National Convention in Orlando, Florida this past summer. They competed in numerous categories including Tower of Power, Spotlight on Your Club, Fiber Arts, Sculpture, Pen and Ink, and their skit.

The skit placed 2nd, Fiber Arts placed 4th, Sculpture placed 3rd, Spotlight on Your Club placed 2nd, and Tower of Power placed 6th. Quite the accomplishment for these students at the national level.

"Students being inducted today are invited to join this club, not based on a specific skill or talent. They are not selected because of superior athletic ability or other gifts," commented Kruse. "It is not a popularity contest. We have a club that emphasizes and recognizes students who understand the importance of things like Achievement, Character, Leadership, and Service."

The Beta motto is: Let us lead by serving others. These students exemplify the meaning of the Beta motto at the middle school. They are the best of the best and will be future leaders in our community and will continue to make a positive impact wherever they live and work.

Nancy Langley, Assistant Principal, inducted the members with the Jr. Beta Pledge. Each student was asked to raise their right hand and recite the pledge.

After the closing parents and family were asked to enjoy punch and cookies and take photos of their students.

Inducted in the 2017 Jr. Beta Club were in alphabetical order:

Collin Anthony, Brendan Ballance, Cheyanne Bayless, Alexis Bennett, Brooklynn Bennett, Allexis Brown, Gabrielle Brown, Kayden Burns, Leneya Callaway, Audrey

Calvert, Tyson Carmode, Katarrah Churchill, Cierra Clark, Richard Coons, Aysia Corbin, Rylee Corlew, Demarkus Daniels, Mya Darnell, Jaylynn Davis, Jon-Kieya Davis, Levi Dement, Conner Doan, Emerson Dorton, Shelby Driskill, Holden Duer, Alexis Durham, Ashton Dvorak, Anna Ellinghouse, Raleigh Evans, Chase Farmer, Jonathan Farmer, RJ Farmer, and Marie Fees.

Preston Fitzpatrick, Ayden Fleming, Lane Franklin, Piper Freeman, Kenneth Frost, Luke Gentry, Sofia Gibson, Dylan Greene, Alexis Grindstaff, Gracen Hampton, Nathan Harris, Hunter Hayes, Kaylee Hazel, Emily Hester, Maliki Hinson-Flores, Amelia Holden, Matthew Honeycutt, Nicole Hua, Brooklyn Huggins, Gabrielle Ingram, Hayden Jarrell, Landon Jarrell, Peyton Jarrell, Logan Jelinek, Amelia Jenkins, Daniel Jones, Harley Keene, Tristan King, Anistin Kyle, Juan Lara, Brooke Lasater, Richard Lin, and Brooklyn Link.

Abbie Lloyd, Ashton Long, Javier Lugo, Gage Malone, Grace Marvel, Shane Matthews, Ellieannah McBroom, Kennedy McCormick, Brianna McRoy, Kaylee McVey, Adaline Medley, Alden Medlin, Elijah Montgomery, Andrew Morgan, Leon Morlan, Hailey Northern, Katelynn Owens, Lily Parker, John Parsons, Quinton Peery, Kali Pennebaker, Hailey Pennebaker, Harrison Pennington, Kenton Pope, Abbygail Powell, Atlanta Rickman, Noah Riddle, Matthew Riley, Alexis Robinson, Kelbey Rodgers, Cameron Rojik, Ethan Ross, and Adam Saylors.

Kaylee Schaefer, Cy Scott, Aubrey Seiter, Ben Sheridan, Jasmine Silvey, Lily Simpson, Cheyenne Smith, Lela Smith, Xzander Smith, Emily Smith, Amberly Steele, Jimmy Stephens, Sophia Stevens, Tatum Taylor, Macie Templemire, Bryce Terry, Kalra Terry, Ivy Tucker, Allison Turnbo, Zoey Vickery, Ashtin Vincent, Avin Vincent, Alyssa Warren, Brett Warren, Raiden Waters, Le Watson, Landon Weathers, Carson Williams, Rhyder Williams, Alexis Womble, Cylas Worley, Ryan Young, and Ethan Zabelin.

LAST UPDATED ON NOVEMBER 03RD 2017 BY DEE LOFLIN

https://showmetimes.com/Blogpost/v908/JR-Beta-Club-Induction-Held-at-TS-Hill-Middle-School

Go to post

More from ShowMe Times:

SUBSCRIBE TO "LOCAL SCHOOLS"

ShowMe Gold Sponsors