Local Schools

тор

Dexter Honor Society Inducts New Members

MARCH 27TH 2016 BY DEE LOFLIN

Dexter Honor Society Inducts New Members

Dexter, Missouri – The Dexter Honor Society held their annual induction of new members at the Dexter Senior High School.

The DHS Honor Society was founded in 2004 and is for Juniors and Seniors who have earned academic achievement and have displayed leadership, character, and honor during their high school career.

Mr. Dan Pollock, DHS Principal began the evening with a few short words and introduced Lauren Thrower, President of the DHS Honor Society. Lauren spoke and performed the introduction of the Honor Code along with introducing each Senior. The officers spoke and lit candles as part of the Honor Society Ceremony.

Officers for the 2015 – 2016 school year are Lauren Thrower (President), Andrew Teel (Vice President), Chandler Young (Secretary), and Taylor Ivy (Treasurer).

The returning members of the Honor Society who were sitting in the audience were asked to stand to be acknowledged. They were Kendall Adams, Randall Allen, Devan Aslin, Madison Bishop, Kassidey Bollinger, Caprese Bostic, Kerigan Brady, Destiny Cagle, Bailey Caldwell, Shania Case, Elizabeth Paige Chasteen, Austin Chesser, Tessla Clark, Kristen Copeland, Kayla Costin, Madisson Cox, Hannah Michel Craft, Matney Davis, Sara Edwards, Ethan Reed Flowers, Jocelyn Frederick, Joshua Grubbs, Julia Lane Hahn, Katlyn Whitley Houston, Kalee Howard, Brianne Huggins, Rachael Huntsman, Taylor Ivy, Garrett Kyle, Noah Langley, Hannah McGhee, Melanie Chanta McKuin, Mary Kate Miller, Alex Moeller, Addison Moore, Taylor Page, Delaney Pullen, Cody Pullum, Cole Renken, Logan Sandage, Courtney Scholl, Kaitlyn Seiter, Halley Sielert, Chase Simpson, Tyler Stevenson, Alexis Tankersley, Lauren Thrower Victoria Trammell, MaKayla Waldner, Kayla Ward, Nathaniel Weathers, Karlee Wright, and Chandler Young.

Honor Code Candle Lighting Ceremony was performed by Kerigan Brady (Leadership), Delaney Pullen (Academic Achievement), Kendall Adams (Character), Taylor Ivy (Academic Honesty), and Julia Hahn (Service).

After each student lit their candle, the proposed junior class students were asked to stand, come to the stage, and take a candle from the table. While Dan Pollock read each name, Lauren Thrower shook his or her hand and congratulated each student.

The students formed a giant circle around the auditorium and one by one the students passed the flame from one candle to another until all were lit. The students recited the pledge lead by Thrower, "I pledge myself to strive toward higher academic achievement, exemplify good character in both school and community and retain a standard of integrity while exhibiting leadership and service to the school and community."

Parents, grandparents, relatives and friends of each student clapped and cheered in support of the students. The Dexter community is extremely proud of their accomplishments. We know they work very hard to earn their place in the Dexter Honor Society. Some students work after school and on weekends, some students compete in multiple sports and have lots of practice and games to attend and others help with their church or community organizations. Juggling so many commitments shows their ability to succeed and we wish them well in their future endeavors.

The following students were inducted for the 2015 - 2016 school year: Victoria Adams, Harley Allen, Hailey Anderson, Kelly Ash, Abigail Bates, Caleb Blunt, Will Brehmer, Kaylee Carey, Katie Coleman, Haley Braxton Cornett, Katlyn Covey, Chelsea Cox, Taryn Fortner, Megan Foster, Andrew Garner, Cidney Gathings, Macy Graves, Veronica Hampton, Jacob Harris, Hannah Haynes, Bethany Hyten, Jason Jarrell, Emily Johns, Garrett Keathley, Karaline Keirsey, Kelsey Kendrick, Jaclyn Kiger, Garrett Laramore, Taylin Leija, Janie Lindsey, Abigail Mangum, Alexis May, Angel Maze, Madison McConnell, Cody McFaddin, Reagan Miller, Sarah Miller, Will Morgan, Cheyenne Mosby, Emily Mouser, Emily Page, Hunter Parrot, Natalee Pedroza, Zach Potts, Caroline Powers, Olivia Sitzes, Myca Sutton, Andrew Teel, Alyssa Teets, Kirsten Teffertiller, Macy Urhahn, Ashlyn Werneck, Lillian Whitehead, Brianna Wright, and Ashlynn Wyman.

Following the induction of new members, they were offered a banquet meal in the cafeteria following the ceremony.

In the photo above are the 2015-2016 newly inducted Honor Society Members. In the photo below are the returning Dexter Honor Society Members.

/images/2016 Images/DHS Old Honor Society .jpg

LAST UPDATED ON MARCH 27TH 2016 BY DEE LOFLIN

https://showmetimes.com/Blogpost/v3ta/Dexter-Honor-Society-Inducts-New-Members

Go to post

More from ShowMe Times:



SUBSCRIBE TO "LOCAL SCHOOLS"

ShowMe Gold Sponsors