### **Local News**



# Dexter Men Newly Commissioned Troopers

JULY 06TH 2014 BY DEE LOFLIN

Dexter Men Newly Commissioned Troopers

Submitted by Dee Loflin, SMT Manager/Editor

**Dexter, Missouri** – The Missouri Highway Patrol is proud to announce 34 newly commissioned troopers including two from Dexter, Missouri.

According to Col. Ron Replogle, superintendent of the patrol, the group was commissioned in a ceremony on June 27, 2014, on the south lawn of the Missouri State Capitol.

Landon J. Haggett and Gregory T. Ulm, both Dexter natives, are among the new academy graduates. Haggett has been assigned to New Madrid and Pemiscot Counties in Troop E, while Ulm will be working in Carter and Reynolds Counties in Troop G.

Governor Jay Nixon gave the keynote address at the graduation ceremony. In his remarks, the governor congratulated the new troopers and also issued a charge. Referencing President Thomas Jefferson's comments about Meriwether Lewis, Gov. Nixon encouraged the class to have, "undaunted courage, possessing a firmness and perseverance of purpose ..." He expressed his respect for the Missouri State Highway Patrol, saying the organization not only embraces its traditions, but also embraces diversity, and advancements in technology and

equipment. The governor said that the new troopers don't know what challenges they will meet each day, but that he has supreme confidence in the Missouri State Highway Patrol and that confidence now extends to each of them.

Replogle also spoke to the class, offering his congratulations and emphasizing the importance of their family's support throughout the rigorous 26 weeks of Academy training. He instructed the new troopers always remember the **Patrol's core values-- integrity**, **responsibility**, **respect**, **professionalism**, **compassion**, **resourcefulness**, **character**, **and commitment**. The colonel reminded the troopers that they are ladies and gentlemen who enforce the law, and to treat others as they would want to be treated.

The 98th Recruit Class reported to the Academy on January 2, 2014. The new troopers will report for duty in their assigned troops on July 14, 2014. Listed below are the names, hometowns, and first assignments for the other 32 members of the 98th Recruit Class:

Matthew P. Acord, Bonne Terre, MO, Troop F, Miller County

Ruthanne A. Altaffer, Springfield, MO, Troop D, Greene County

Grant A. Ayres, Jefferson City, MO, Troop I, Crawford County

Daniel R. Becker, Athens, IL, Troop A, Platte County

Logan M. Bolton, Salem, IL, Troop C, Jefferson County

Jeffrey J. Burnett, Sparks, NV, Troop C, St. Charles, County

Keenan J. Cool, Newton, MO, Troop H, Daviess/DeKalb Counties

Cathryn L. Davis, Wright City, MO, Troop G, N. Howell/Shannon Counties

Krystalyn H. Davis, St. Joseph, MO, Troop H, Andrew/Buchanan Counties

Iris R. Elfrink, Leopold, MO, Troop E, New Madrid/Mississippi/Scott Counties

Matthew R. Freeman, Kennett, MO, Troop E, New Madrid/Pemiscot Counties

Mark A. Frigy, Decatur, IL, Troop C, Franklin County

Gregory T. Hackett, Springfield, MO, Troop I, Pulaski/Maries County

Jacob R. Hardy, McKenzie, TN, Troop F, Camden County

Brandon L. Harris, Jefferson City, MO, Troop F, Boone County

David W. Henley Jr., Nevada, MO, Troop D, Greene County

Kyle L. Huggins, Poplar Bluff, MO, Troop E, Butler/Ripley Counties Nicholas W. March, Columbia, MO, Troop C, Ste. Genevieve/Perry Counties Brian N. Marquart, Ballwin, MO, Troop A, Clay County Thomas W. Meyer, West Plains, MO, Troop D, Greene County Tyler W. O'Brien, Springfield, IL, Troop B, Randolph/Monroe Counties. Matthew R. Parker, Springfield, MO, Troop F, Camden County Matthew H. Riley, Atlanta, MO, Troop B, Clark/Scotland Counties Roberto A. Rizo, Rolla, MO, Troop I, Phelps/Maries Counties Jose Sanchez Jr., Glendale, AZ, Troop C, North St. Louis County Keith D. Scruggs, Overland, MO, Troop C, South St. Louis County Spencer D. Sears, Gravois Mills, MO, Troop A, Clay County Alex J. Shibley, Desloge, MO, Troop C, Ste. Genevieve/Perry Counties Shaun P. Sprague, Agency, MO, Troop H, Andrew/Buchanan Counties Tyler R. Stults, Branson, MO, Troop B, Marion/Ralls Counties Cody D. Tucker, Corning, AR, Troop E, Wayne County Ethan N. Wilson, Aurora, MO, Troop A, Platte County.

LAST UPDATED ON JULY 06TH 2014 BY DEE LOFLIN

https://showmetimes.com/Blogpost/uras/Dexter-Men-Newly-Commissioned-Troopers

Go to post

## More from ShowMe Times:

#### SUBSCRIBE TO "LOCAL NEWS"

## **ShowMe Gold Sponsors**